Trending Content

AICC Canada Honors John Franciosa

March 20, 2024

Mona Franciosa accepts the AICC Canada Hall of Fame award, recognizing the late John Franciosa, from AICC Canada President Jeff Abbott of Moore Packaging. John Franciosa was recognized posthumously at the annual AICC Canada Presidents’ Luncheon on December 8, 2023, at the St. George’s Country Club in Etobicoke, Ontario. (Photo courtesy of AICC.)

AICC Canada honored the late John Franciosa at its annual Presidents’ Luncheon held December 8, 2023, at the St. George’s Country Club in Etobicoke, Ontario. Franciosa was inducted posthumously into the AICC Canada Hall of Fame.

Jeff Abbott, vice president of Moore Packaging in Barrie, Ontario, and president of AICC Canada, presented the award to Mona Franciosa, who accepted it on behalf of John’s family, saying, “John was so proud of all of you and so proud of AICC.”

John had a successful 40-year career in the Canadian corrugated industry, beginning with Domtar. He later moved on to Gerrity Corrugated and then to Packaging Technologies as president. He retired from McLeish Corr-a-Box, which became Cascades during his tenure. For many years, John was a member of AICC Canada’s board of directors, serving two terms as president, first in 2002–2003 and then in 2017–2018. He served for 15 years as regional director.

The AICC Canada Presidents’ Luncheon is held every December to honor those who have contributed significantly to the welfare and progress of the independent sector of the corrugated industry in Canada. Sponsors of this year’s event were Niagara Sheets, Kruger, Metsä Board, Atlantic Packaging, and Central Group.